‘Something Old’

May 16, 2014 § Leave a comment

Seems everyone has a little bit of retro in their weddings nowadays. Maybe its just fashion cycling, but I like to think there is a bit more behind it – I liked including that ‘something old’ because it gave more meaning and connection to such an important day.

I didn’t want a traditional veil, but didn’t want to pay the prices I saw in stores for cute vintage hairpieces. Armed with an idea and a seam ripper, I found my mother’s wedding veil and started to take it apart (with permission of course!).130915_CorinnaDan_Wedding-84 130915_CorinnaDan_Wedding-103 130915_CorinnaDan_Wedding-109

First, the base of the head piece was completely in tact from when my mother wore it, but just with a little whitening to spruce it up a bit. Then instead of centering the head piece on top of the head as my mother had done in the seventies, my hairdresser helped me pin it so it wrapper around the back and part of the front of my head. With the base in place, I had taken a piece of mom’s veil, which was then pinned exactly where we liked on the day. I can’t say I wasn’t nervous about it all working out, because the wedding day was the first time we had tried to put all of these pieces together, but Christie did everything so perfectly!

And I couldn’t have been happier with another DIY done from the wedding list. It just took a little persistance and help from friends.

Thanks for everything!!

130915_CorinnaDan_Wedding-345

130915_CorinnaDan_Wedding-355

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ‘Something Old’ at a red ribbon.

meta

