Dear Miss Potter,

May 16, 2014 § 2 Comments

 

I do love the Beatrix Potter books and I admit that it is mostly for the sweet watercolour illustrations, even though the stories can be quite rivetting. Animals in human clothing never cease to amuse me and Miss Potter captures the whimsy of it so well.

 

Lately, I have decided to take on a new project: up-cycled stuffed animals. I picked up a pile of unwanted wool and cashmere while thrifting and then felted them to make them washer/dryer friendly.

IMG_9749Then I proceeded to procrastinate over actually beginning the work for a few weeks…about a month or more. With no real deadline (like a baby due-date or kid’s birthday), motivation was hard to come by.

BUT! Today, I have triumphantly began working on this project. No online patterns were quite what I liked and I was feeling inspired by Miss Potter, so I took out a Peter Rabbit book and used the pictures as models for my own pattern making. Holy smokes. I have not made many patterns, and never for a 3D animal, and so this proved to be quite the mind bender. After a few hours of drawing, cutting and taping (I only have letter size paper!) I feel quite accomplished!

IMG_9745

I still have no idea if it will work out correctly, but I have high hopes… :S

I hope Miss Potter will be proud!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Dear Miss Potter,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dear Miss Potter, at a red ribbon.

meta

